Tourism Writing Opportunities in English?

Discussion in 'Living in Cancun' started by CancunWordWhiz, May 15, 2009.

1. CancunWordWhiz

CancunWordWhiz Enthusiast Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hola otra vez mis amigos.

It's getting closer to my relocation to Cancun and I'm looking for supplemental work. I would like to offer my marketing communication (writing) services for hire to help promote tourism in Cancun.

Given the state of the MX economy right now and the downturn in tourism, I could certainly assist with written English promotional pieces for resorts and travel agencies. I have 20 years of marketing writing experience with a B.A. in English.

Does anyone know of any contacts in this field who could use my services? I'll be in Cancun in June.

Muchas gracias!

2. Jim in Cancun

Jim in Cancun Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You and your talents are much needed!!

That being said, I worked for a company for over 15 years, am a native English speaker and have worked as an English teacher and correcting and editing texts before and they do not ask me to write or correct texts, prefering that non-English speakers write the texts--in English.
    (I have my theories but I do not understand it but then I am not paid to understand it! LOL)

I wait until they publish something and then correct it. I also correct texts in Spanish--again, after they have been published. I had to set up my own companies just so I could correct texts!

Good luck. I am sure there must be someone or some company that wants a foreigner to come in and correct them. Good luck finding them.

Do keep in touch and when you get here, let us know. This is not a particularly good time to be looking for a job here with all the drug wars and swine flu--or rumours thereof. But you will do fine. Easy it might not be but simple it is. Good luck and there are people here who will help you.

3. CancunWordWhiz

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Much Needed Talents

Hi Jim in Cancun.