The laws are getting alot harsher nowadays. In Texas you get arrested for DWI they automatically take your license and you have to go to court to get it back. If convicted it's $1000 per year for 3 years just to keep your license. This does not even count the fines/probation/court fees/Lawyer fees and all the other things involved with it. And seriously you can get arrested and get a DWI for having like 3 beers in an hour and then driving. If you get arrested for DWI in Texas it can and most likely will cost you $5000 to $15000 depending on if you are convicted and what kind of punishment you get.