Starting a Tour Company

Discussion in 'Living in Cancun' started by kylenick13, Nov 8, 2007.

1. kylenick13

kylenick13 Newbie Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm a 22 year old Student currently taking Small Business. I'm doing a Business Plan on Starting a tour company. My plan was to start up a adventure based getaways for all ages. I wanted to know any information on what I would have to go through to take the right steps .Coming from Canada I would like to know any information on the problems that I would occur along the way and also any info about start up costs. Right now it's all just paper and In reality this is the first step im taking to hopefully one day pursuing my dream. I'm going to be traveling when I'm done school, backpacking around Central America to get first hand experience. Any info about starting a tour company would be great and greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Kyle.

2. T.J.

T.J. I can choose my own title Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    All I can contribute is a "good luck". There is lots of competition for the tourist dollars and lots of red tape for anything remotely connected with any branch of government here.

And you should have deep pockets as you somehow have to reach your customers.

You also have to assume, and I can promise this is true, that the people already doing this are at least as smart as you are.

3. RiverGirl

RiverGirl Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    TJ is right, Mexico invented "cinta roja" red tape. And it seems that here it's harder for foreigners to be granted the right permits than it is for Mexicans.

The culture here has a lot of "it's who you know" stuff in it, so the very easiest way to start a company here is to first live here for a couple of years and throw lots of lavish parties and get to know the players here, and THEN start your business.