Rent a car??

Discussion in 'Cancun Forum' started by pjscardz, Feb 24, 2009.

1. pjscardz

pjscardz Enthusiast Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    We're going to take the tour to Chichen Itza but wonder if we should pay for the tour to Tulum/Xel-Ha or just rent a car and do it on our own. Any suggestions?

2. madao

madao Enthusiast Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    We're planning on renting a car to do Chichen and then again on another day to do Tulum/Xel-Ha.

Whats ur reasoning for doing a tour to Chichen Itza rather than drive?

3. pjscardz

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Chichen Itza is far away in the jungle and with very few if not any english speaking residents. I have no interest in getting lost out there. Tulum is easy to get to by car and fairly populated. I guess we could rent a car and follow the tour bus but I prefer to be on my own schedule when I have a car...

4. RiverGirl

RiverGirl Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As a resident I would never take a tour. But the tour does mean you don't need to think.

Chichen Itza is so easy to find, I can't imagine getting lost going there...I have however missed the turn to the Tulum ruins...

Personally I don't think Tulum is worth spending a lot of money to see, what's nice about it is that it overlooks the ocean...if you have a car there you can wander in to the town and get lunch on your own schedule...

5. atc

atc Enthusiast Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    We book a driver with Entertainment plus got picked up when we wanted and went where we wanted cost a little more but was will worth it

6. madao

madao Enthusiast Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As RiverGirl says its pretty much one road all the way to Chichen, should be an easy drive

A car for Tulum is a good idea. You only need a couple hours there and you can then do whatever you want for the rest of the day.