Im a newbie in need of your expert tips!

Discussion in 'Cancun Forum' started by Dovvie-boy, Jan 22, 2007.

1. Dovvie-boy

Dovvie-boy Newbie Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi there folks im getting married in April over here in Bonnie Scotland and have booked up for 2wks in the Riu Caribe from the 3rd-17th of may 07. I would generally love to hear anybodys views on, -this hotel, the weather to expect(thats a big one,us scots get hardly any sunshine), what to do , where to go, where not to go, how good is the location etc etc...
    Im so... lookin forward to this and im sure with all your friendly advice it will be made even better.

Thanks Dov :D

2. CancunCanuck

CancunCanuck Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Congrats on the upcoming nuptials! And for picking my favourite month in Cancun to visit. May is beautiful weather wise, not too hot, not too cool, the days are long again, not too much chance of rain, just perfect. Good choice in hotel too, the Riu chain is well regarded by most travellers. The Riu Caribe is on the north side of the island of Cancun so you have the calm waters instead of crashing waves. Nice beach at the Caribe, good stretch of sand. Keep in mind while your travel company says the tips are included at your all inclusive, they really are NOT. Be prepared to tip your servers, maids and bellmen. They will deserve it!

Everything you'll want to do is easily accessed by the bus for 6.5 pesos. Taxis are everywhere as well, just negotiate your fare before you get in.

For tours, there are a bazillion things to do in Cancun. The Mayan Ruins in the area are spectacular, particularly Chichen Itza. There are two eco parks, Xelha and Xcaret which offer snorkelling, flora and fauna, dolphin swims and many other activities. I love heading over to Isla Mujeres for the day for a self guided tour. You can do 2 kms of zip lines, ride bikes through the jungle and jump in a cenote at Selvatura. Those are just a couple of ideas.