I GOT MY TOURIST TAX REFUND

Discussion in 'Living in Cancun' started by T.J., Jul 7, 2008.

1. T.J.

T.J. I can choose my own title Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It took about a year and a half of occasionally asking airline employees, making calls to customer (non) service, etc. and getting nowhere but I finally decided to make a mission out of it.

I got one of about $20 US and today got one for just under $300 US for 15 trips. Life is good.

I was able to creatively break into the airline employee directory and found the tax manager. I really have no idea just yet how to tell anyone else to do this but am trying to get to that point, now that I have my Dough-Rey-Mi.

My ex used to say that I chased dead people for a living and bought their now unwanted land. So this was really a snap.

The only thing I can offer up is that Spirit refers to this as the UK tax, but at the airport level they called it UKA. But it is the tourist tax we have heard about and if you have immigration status in Mexico you are exempt.

One secret is to originate your trips here but you are entitled to the refund just as long as you enter and leave or leave and enter Mexico and you have an FM3 or presumably an FM2.

Yippee,

2. Jim in Cancun

Jim in Cancun Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yep. Not easy the firt time but once you figure it out it is fairly easy and worth it. I never did myself but have someone who did.

3. jenleib

jenleib Addict Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    TJ,

What about if you are a Mexican citizen???? No more FMxx

4. T.J.

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I imagine the same applies if you are a citizen, but my interests are totally self serving.

Spirit told me that NOW, with their new system, if the flight is round trip and originates in Cancun, which is their only location in Mexico, that the system presumes that you are not a tourist.