How to comunicate with people (cellphones work?)

Discussion in 'Cancun Forum' started by Romanticthug007, Feb 24, 2009.

  1. Romanticthug007

    Romanticthug007 Enthusiast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hey guys.. i was just wondering how people communicate out there.. I am coming from Toronto so i dont even know if my cellphone will work out there.. i will have to check with my phone company... but say you went to a club and your lost your buddy how you go about finding each other and so..
     
  2. EngineerGuy

    EngineerGuy I can choose my own title Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    First thing is to check with your cell company! I know verizon does but you have to have it set up. Best thing I can tell you to do is rent a cell phone from www.cancunvalet.com, they have the phone waiting for you at your hotel and when you are done you leave it there for them! pretty cheap and they give you a local cancun number so people can call you when they want!
     
  3. steveo_85

    steveo_85 Addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aberdeen scotland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i asked my phone company they said my phone will work but the charges will be pretty big so guess i wont be using that!! but taking it anyway becuase it has a good camera!! just have to watch drunk calls might do what engineerguy suggests and rent-a-phone
     
  4. celticfc

    celticfc Enthusiast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    last 2 times i have been on O2 and Orange and they havent worked. hopefully will get a signal this year
     
  5. d2k

    d2k Addict Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Luton, England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    my o2 phone has worked both years.
     
  6. celticfc

    celticfc Enthusiast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    quality hopefully will get a signal this year then
     
  7. roman70

    roman70 Enthusiast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Are you sure you have tried it with a tri- oder a quad-band cell phone?

    In American (or also other) Countries, they use other frenquencies than in Europe. In Europe it's normally 900 and/or 1800 MHz. In America it's normally 1900 MHz or also 850 MHz.

    Different types of European cell phones:
    Single band: 900 or 1800 MHz
    Dual band: 900 and 1800 MHz
    Tri-band: 900, 1800 and 1900 MHz (works in America/Mexico)
    Quad-band: 850, 900, 1800 and 1900 MHz (works in America/Mexico)

    Newer phones are normally tri- oder quad-band. Older ones are only dual- or single-band.

    O2 and Orange has roaming agreements with mexican cell phone operators since a long time.

    Here you can find an official list with all GSM-operators worldwide incl. the coverage maps (if available), there roaming agreements and there GSM-frequencies:

    http://gsmworld.com/roaming/gsminfo/index.shtml

    Greetings from Switzerland

    Roman
     
  8. hw711

    hw711 Moderator/Dance Machine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,447
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    CDMA phones works in Cancun too, not just GSM. You usually have to enable international features with your carrier before you go though.
     
  9. Romanticthug007

    Romanticthug007 Enthusiast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    just called my phone company.. my phone will work... charges are: 60 cents per text, incoming free, North America calls: $3.50 per min lol.. so I will bring the phone..
     
  10. momo14

    momo14 Regular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    cool. who's ur provider?

    I'm gonna bring mine - and just txt ppl.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice