housing market in cancun

Discussion in 'Living in Cancun' started by johndish, Oct 12, 2012.

1. johndish

johndish Regular Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,

I own a house in Alamos. I have been renting it since 2007 and have been blessed with wonderful tenants. I know that Alamos has exploded with growth which is good but, is there much of a buying market or is it still extremely weak?

2. V

V I can choose my own title Registered Member

Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    John, I'm sure some of the posters have wanted to say something about your question, but just aren't sure where to begin.

My impression of things here, in general, is that sales of existing properties slowed, but this didn't really drive down prices: owners just held out for what they were looking for. That was certainly the case with the condo we bought: the owners wouldn't bargain, though their unit had been on the market for a long time. They knew what they needed to break even, and they wouldn't budge.

Since we bought, in our complex of twenty units, two have sold and two others just went on the market. There are a total of three for sale, at the moment. My impression, based on those sales, is that prices have changed little in the last three years, but there seems to be more activity in the marketplace, now.

Mexico's economy has been doing good, averaging 5% annual growth, with Cancun/Quintana Roo doing even better. Tourism is at near record highs, here, and that will eventually feed back into higher resale prices; but, the market is saturated, and more housing gets built all the time, so the two may offset each other, meaning no price increases, aside from inflationary effects.

As for your particular neighborhood, I have no first hand knowledge, sadly.

3. T.J.

T.J. I can choose my own title Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    John,