GIVE A TOY...GET A SMILE! - Personal Delivery

Discussion in 'Cancun Forum' started by CancunNurse, Aug 28, 2006.

1. CancunNurse

CancunNurse Regular Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My name is Nancy and I am a Registered Nurse from New York living here in Cancun. I am asking the help of tourists coming to visit Cancun in the next 4 months. I am very active in Community Projects here and I am asking you to bring down 1 toy from the US when you come down. We have an AIDS association here, with children living with and affected by AIDS-HIV. The purpose of this drive is to give these children a little something extra for the holidays. Toys are very expensive here and these children are a second thought when it comes to getting medication, nutritional supplements, etc. These children live outside the Hotel Zone area, usually in small shacks, sometimes with dirt floors. I am not asking for expensive toys...even hair ribbons, coloring books and crayons and stuffed animals are great for a kid that gets very little. I DO ask that it is NEW, no second hand toys please. The children range from 6 months to 18 years old. This Toy Drive will go on from now until the week before Christmas. All toys (watches, sneakers, clothing) can be left at the club MY PLACE located in the Hotel Zone in Plaza Zocalo, next to TGIFridays. Your help would be greatly appreciated and will help to bring a smile to a child's face for the holidays. Thanks! Nancy

2. vrodgers

vrodgers Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Could I add the suggestion that perhaps people bring you the toys from MacDonalds, Burger King, etc. (still in plastic)? Simple enough to ask for one when we hit the drive-thru for that indulgent burger & fries!

3. R.I. GAL

R.I. GAL Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Great idea Val :!:

Wish I was going soon so I could help you out...maybe my husband will buy the " it's not for me honey think of all the children we could help " :wink: :!:

4. CancunNurse

Ratings:
    +0 / 0