DON'T use your credit/debit cards in Mexico

Discussion in 'Cancun Forum' started by Vegas, Mar 22, 2009.

1. Vegas

Vegas Enthusiast Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Sigh.....

I've heard reports about it, but somebody finally tried to get me. My bank caught it, but my debit card # apparently got "skimmed" in Cancun. I'll have to go dig through my bank statement to see which restaurants I used it at.

:rant: :rant: :rant: :rant:

2. Ken and Darcie

Ken and Darcie Guru Registered Member

Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    ive been using a credit card for 6 years whenever i travel to mexico and have never had a single problem. You could have this problem anywhere you use it. Ive been screwed in the US 3 times in the past and the bank has always caught it.

3. Susan in Cancun

Susan in Cancun Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    credit cards

Sorry you had trouble with your card, but I've been using my credit cards and debit cards in Cancun for several years (I live in Cancun full-time) and never had a problem. I've had my purse stolen and still no problems. So, please don't scare everyone by being overly dramatic. As the other poster mentioned, this sort of problem could have happened anywhere and is not exclusive to Cancun. (maybe I'm being a bit defensive, but I'm sick of all the negative things people are saying about Cancun lately. we have our problems, sure...but the things that are being reported can, and DO, happen anywhere in the world.)

4. Ken and Darcie

Ken and Darcie Guru Registered Member

Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    great reply susan!

5. Snowfog

Snowfog Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I had this happen to me a few years ago. Visa called me and asked if I had been making any purchases in Cancun in the last few days. The weird part is that it happened a full 6 months after I had returned. Visa was very much on top of things and had the charges removed immediately. They never even showed up on my monthly statement.