bringing back Liquor

Discussion in 'Cancun Forum' started by Tilla, Mar 20, 2009.

1. Tilla

Tilla Newbie Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ive had a few ppl ask me if I can bring back some liquor for them, I was also planing to bring back some for my self, but it seems like Ive heard that there is a limit to how much you can bring back, is there a limit? Looking around on the internet Im seeing 2 liters but its info from 2 years ago or more.

2. GONZO

GONZO Guru Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Here is what the CBP.gov says. My wife and I just got back on Mar. 8th and we brought home 4 liters, but only claimed 2 on our form. They (US customs) never have checked to see how much we have and I have been bringing back 4 liters for the past 8 years.

Alcoholic Beverages One liter (33.8 fl. oz.) of alcoholic beverages may be included in your exemption if:

You are 21 years old.
    It is for your own use or as a gift.
    It does not violate the laws of the state in which you arrive.

Federal regulations allow you to bring back more than one liter of alcoholic beverage for personal use, but, as with extra tobacco, you will have to pay duty and Internal Revenue Service tax.

While Federal regulations do not specify a limit on the amount of alcohol you may bring back for personal use, unusual quantities are liable to raise suspicions that you are importing the alcohol for other purposes, such as for resale. CBP officers are authorized by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) to make on-the-spot determinations that an importation is for commercial purposes, and may require you to obtain a permit to import the alcohol before releasing it to you. If you intend to bring back a substantial quantity of alcohol for your personal use, you should contact the port through which you will be re-entering the country, and make prior arrangements for entering the alcohol into the United States.