a job question

Discussion in 'Living in Cancun' started by gabesz, Apr 23, 2007.

1. gabesz

gabesz Addict Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Does anyone happen to know if they use mainframe programmers in Cancun who only speak English, and what the rate of pay is for such a position? Thanks.

2. Drewbert

Drewbert Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Alternative question:

Has anyone in Cancun seen a mainframe here?

3. Life_N_Cancun

Life_N_Cancun Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have a feeling you will not like this answer but here goes...

First off, I haven't seen a "mainframe" since the early 90's, so I am going to presume that you mean networking/server systems admin and programming, if I'm wrong let me know.

The answers are, No, No, and less than you make in two or three days in the States every month.

I am a computer tech by trade, but I cant work in that field here, as immigration does not allow it, so any "work" I do is pro bono. Also, there are reports that immigration is not giving visas to anyone who doesn't have a "degree" (whatever that means) in Spanish, and I cant see any reason that a company here would want to hire someone that only speaks English, vs. someone who is bilingual. Unless you have some extraordinary skill, you will not be able to work here in your field. Sorry

However, if you have a good chunk of change in the bank, you can live here reasonably comfortable for less than $1000 a month (more for a family, obviously), if you tighten the belt a little and watch your spending. So you might want to "take a year" or look into some way that you can have $1000 or more coming in every month, to live on. Immigration will want to see much more than that, but in reality, you can live on less than what immigration demands you have every month. Get your visa in the States before you arrive to avoid the hassle the local immigration is dealing out to new arrivals.

4. gabesz

Ratings:
    +0 / 0