Want to move to Teach English in Cancun!

Discussion in 'Living in Cancun' started by GalinaB, Jan 7, 2007.

1. GalinaB

GalinaB Enthusiast Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hey Everyone,

I have visited this site in the past few days and was browsing around. A lot of very useful information for those (especially for those) in my position.

Seeing as how everyone knows each other on here...I would like to introdue myself. My name is Galina, I currently live in Toronto (Canada) and I am in my final months of university. (Yay!) I am a Sociology major and have taken several courses in English (don't know if that helps in finding a teaching position). I am an aspiring teacher. Something I have always wanted to do and I do not see myself doing anything else. After finishing university I wanted to experience something different. I have vacationed in Cancun 3 times in the past year. I am fully aware that vacationing at a 5* hotel is one thing and living there is something very different. I am a little apprehensive about my move, but at the same time extremely excited. I have never lived on my own, not to mention alone in a foreign country.

I would really appreciate some help in securing a position as a teacher. Now I know it is very difficult to do that before I make the move. But I plan on moving in August or September, so I figure I have some time to research. (That is my plan!) I do not speak any Spanish (but I do speak Russian....lol....not that it is any help in Cancun). I am young (on paper...22), but I feel a lot older (something I hear from most people I meet). Would my age be a factor when looking for a job teaching? What are the requirements? What can make me stand out?

I have so many questions, but I don't want to overwhelm this post. I will probably have a lot more as I receive some feedback.

Thank you for all of your help in advance!

Sincerely,

Galina

2. GalinaB

Ratings:
    +0 / 0