Requirements to settle as a 'Rentista' in Cancun?

Discussion in 'Living in Cancun' started by stratman100, Jun 28, 2010.

1. stratman100

stratman100 Enthusiast Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello everyone. I have been trawling through all the posts for over a week and now feel I know a lot of you already. This is an excellent forum and source of information and a tribute to Steve and all the contributors - and Rivergirl I hope to see you back in here one day.

As you can see I am a newbie and I have really tried to avoid asking newbie questions, because I am aware that the subject will have been covered many times. But having read virtually every thread and post there appears to be some contradictions and I must admit to being a little confused so please, please bear with me.

But first a bit of background. I am British and married and I am 60 years and have been to Cancun 6 times so far. My son now lives in Cancun and a few weeks ago we came over for his wedding to a lovely Mexican girl. For this reason, plus we the fact love the climate, the people and the coastal living, my wife and I have decided that we want to move out here permanently. We will be heading for the Downtown area and ideally near where my son has bought a house in the new Santa Fe II development. We wanted to rent for the first year and then look at purchasing. I would be coming as a Retiree and will be supported by my Pension and cash savings.

So to my questions :

1. As a Rentista should I apply for a FM2 or FM3?
    2. Is it best to obtain the FM2/3 from the Consulate in UK prior to travelling or to enter on a FMM and then apply via a local lawyer in Cancun.
    3. Do we need the FM2/3 in order to rent property, in which case we would have to stay in Hotels initially until we have the permit, which would be expensive.