How easy is it to get a job in Cancun?

Discussion in 'Living in Cancun' started by drewp, Mar 11, 2010.

1. drewp

drewp Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    After just getting back from Cancun - I want to live in Cancun:headbanger: I'm a civil engineer by trade but I don't see too much demand for Traffic Engineers in Mexico. I did do a timeshare presentation and I think I could do a WAY better job selling timeshares to people than that guy. How tough is it to get a job being a timeshare guy, bellman or some other job that it helps to speak english and be personable?

2. rawkus

rawkus I can choose my own title Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    @drewp: Its very easy to find timeshare jobs here.

Most expats that I know here still work or started within timeshare when they first arrived.

Obviously there are good and bad companies, like within any line of work.

I applied to be a bellboy(I assume thats the same..?), but never got the job - They told me I was overqualified, even though I had NEVER worked a single minute with hospitality...

Maybe its really considered to be a "low" occupation here in Mex? Dont know.

I did do some concierge work, which I really enjoyed, until they started pushing everyone to do extra hours daily, without any increase in salaries.

Plus it was hard to work with only Mexicans, mostly because they had their own "group" and weren't to keen on letting me(or any other "outsider") in.

Haha, they also charged guests money under the table to deliver messages, and were furious when I refused to do the same :icon_neutral:

3. drewp

drewp Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Where do you live? Are there nicer neighborhoods that are reasonably priced?

4. Epic

Epic Enthusiast Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    depends on what your budget is like and what you are looking for.

5. RiverGirl

RiverGirl Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0