HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Living in Cancun' started by GalinaB, May 22, 2007.

1. GalinaB

GalinaB Enthusiast Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have been looking into moving to Cancun / Playa Del Carmen for about a year now. I have been doing some research in the area of teaching. I am still unclear about a few things...

1. Is Spanish an absolute necessity in order to teach ESL?
    2. What are some of the requisites for teaching ESL?
    3. What are some of the schools I could possibly look into?

Any help anyone could offer would be greatly appreciated!!! It's getting down to the wire...

Thanks to everyone!

Galina

2. CancunCanuck

CancunCanuck Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Galina,
    Let me try to answer to the best of my knowledge, I am a teacher of ESL here in Cancun.

1. No, Spanish is not a necessity but it is valuable. You will need it to live here for sure, it will make your life a lot easier. I have heard rumours that Immigration is asking people to take Spanish tests, but I have not heard that YET for ESL teachers.

2. I believe most schools will look for some sort of teaching experience, but not necessarily ESL experience. As a native speaker of English you have an advantage for sure and sometimes schools will hire a native with no experience. Most likely you will be asked to take a TOEFL exam but for a native speaker it's a no brainer to get the minimum requirement. Contrary to popular belief, having TESL or the equivalent is not usually necessary here.

3. The "big" schools are Harmon Hall www.harmonhall.com , Interlingua http://www.interlingua.com.mx/ , Berlitz http://www.berlitz.com.mx/ and Quick Learning http://www.quicklearning.com.mx/new/html/ffindex.htm . (As you can see from the websites, some Spanish is going to be necessary to live here). There are lots of smaller schools that come and go but those are the biggies.