Got an opportunity to own a bar in Cancun - no experience 24yo

Discussion in 'Living in Cancun' started by Thwar077, Mar 26, 2016.

1. Thwar077

Thwar077 Guest

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Found this opportunity while on vacation. Here is the deal, I have this opportunity, the time and money is in my favor. I have been working about 3 years full time as a software engineer. The bar would cost only half my savings, so it doesn't really hurt as much, I am debt free. I believe this opportunity is gold for me to grow as a man to learn business and of course social skills. I know Spanish so communication wouldn't be a problem.

The issue is that I have no experience of owning a business, the current owner says he will teach me how to manage the bar. I am not sure if anyone has experience with this kind of situation, but in review I will be leaving the US to live in Mexico to run this bar, is this a bad idea? The bar is pretty popular and there is money to be made.

In my personal opinion, I feel this could be a fresh start for me to self redevelop myself, I've been through a lot at this point I don't mind taking risks. I don't care if I have a lot of money or if I have a family (not that I am looking to start one). I want to work on myself and I feel this opportunity will help with that. A lot to process. Thoughts?

2. gabesz

gabesz Addict Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You will make far more money as a software engineer after another year or two of experience than you ever will owning a bar which you know nothing of. Even if the current owner will teach you how to run it, what if its not properly managed? Will you suffer the mismanagement skills they teach you? This is not a really good idea especially you have zero experience in a bar ownership or management and on top of this its in a foreign country as well.

3. Steve

Steve Administrator Owner

Ratings:
    +7,193 / 14
    I would say go for it!