Cancun Seafood ?Crabs? Lobsters?Shrimp?

Discussion in 'Living in Cancun' started by ForgotmyScreenName, Apr 22, 2010.

1. ForgotmyScreenName

ForgotmyScreenName Enthusiast Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Can somone give me the skinny on seafood in cancun? Here in the states i eat alot of crab,shrimp,clams,mussells,oysters and lobsters? what kind of local fresh seafood can i expect to find and where is the best place to find it? Does anyone do there own crab or lobster fishing? :fish:

please save the STD' jokes for another thread ;)

2. Gringation

Gringation Guru Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm no expert, but there are a few places I love.

There's one restaurant called "Va Que Va", but it's a bit far out. Kinda out in the "regiones" of Cancun. Still, it's an awesome atmosphere with fresh seafood. And they'll put a skewer of shrimp in your beer! If I find out exactly where it is (I get lost) I'll let you know!

I also know a place (house) that sells fresh to-go seafood. They sell fish, octopus, swordfish... whatever they caught. It's a bit far out as well. Near where the tianguis (flea market) sets up on Saturdays (not the Sunday one).

A lot of people like the fish tacos on Tulum. No idea if it's fresh, though. (Tacos de Pescado? What's it called?)

Muellecito is a popular option, on Bonampak. They sell shrimp pizza, seafood burritos, lots of fish/shrimp tacos... and i think the beers cost $10 pesos on Mondays and Tuesdays.

I don't catch my own seafood, but some cousins of mine are fishermen near Merida! (They fish with spears and harpoon guns while being dragged on a line behind a boat. sometimes they fish with no boat. I wish I were that cool.)

3. ForgotmyScreenName

ForgotmyScreenName Enthusiast Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thanks for the info i wish i was as cool as your cousins too:ernaehrung015:

4. matkirk

matkirk Guru Registered Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0